top of page

Checkmate by Lindsey Powell

I loved the introductions to Joey and Paige, their individual prologues on their separation. It was incredibly written and you really felt the characters feelings through the both. I loved the timeskip of 3 years, and the deep and badass character development of Paige. Also, reading their feelings about separated from each other, really explained their story as well as who they both are individually.


The sexual tension between Joey and Paige throughout the story continously reaches high level and I was all for it. I loved the tug and pull they both felt in their hearts for each other, was amazing written, it felt like my own heart was being tugged and pulled back and forth. I love it when a book can be a movie in your mind and you feel the characters emotions throughout the story, which Checkmate definitely had.


I love how Joey gives into his heart first but both knowing they love each other. I adored the way that even when she was after his underworld crown, he helped her with a job. Proves he loves her even as he's staying in the underworld longer to look out for her. I loved seeing Paige resist her love, need and want for him. I absolutely was internally screaming as Paige started to give in and when she finally did, I was so ready for it. It was amazing and perfectly balanced with the storyline.


Knowing the world that they live in, you know trouble isn't far behind and reading the trouble they had to fight was beautifully written and I just wanted more. I loved how even though they were both a team, Paige still went off on her own like the Queen she is and fight without Joey to begin with.


Checkmate was utterly fantastic throughout, it was thilling, gripping, hot, sexy and so much more than you could ever want.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page