top of page

Cocky Player by Stacey Lynn - Book Review

Updated: Mar 31, 2022

Review Date: 26/09/2019

My overall thoughts before I go into the depths of my review. Cocky Player was just amazing and beautiful from beginning to end. It drew you in from the start and wouldn't let you go. It is sexy, everything the characters felt, you ended up feeling. Detailed and amazing. It was steamy and it was able to make the reader feel that as well.

Connor, as the story says he's cocky and he knows what he is good at and isn't afraid to make it known. He is loving and protective before he even knows what's going on with his feelings. When he is discovering his feelings, he ends up showing this adorable personality that you don't see until he knows his heart works. Connor is sexy and so goddamn dreamy... The type of guy I dream about. Brenna, she is literally me with different history. Her character just calls out to everyone and becomes everyone's worst nightmare. I love how she is relatable to me through being invisible then just like a light switch, can be a different person. Brenna is cute and adorable... She's just the kind of girl who you want to be in the corner for. Not to protect her but to let her know that she isn't alone. When they first met, it drew out what the characters are really like. It painted them like a picture for all to see. It was typical in a way of first meetings, it made me smile with Connor doubly checking with Brenna. Then the 'pop' I don't think a story has made me drop my phone and hide my face before. I think my mum thought something happened with the way she looked at me. You didn't half end up feeling for Brenna when she left The two ended up meeting at the players get together with the boss of the team. You were able to understand how both of them was feeling, angry and awkward. It's a something no one in the situation they were in, wants to see again when they look at the other person.  From the moment Connor told Brenna he'd be her "teacher" you knew immediately it wouldn't be long till he was hooked and he was hooked on Brenna. It was just beautiful how he was with her, slow and gentle till he got what he wanted. It was cute how they both tried to hide their feelings and what they were doing from everyone when Connor forgot that Shannon and Oliver aren't dumb as they have been in their stage. Even though, the first couple didn't try to hide much and didn't have much to risk. You are literally feeling the tension of their love and their tension as you read. You're nearly on the end of your seat just waiting for when they truly give in. Near the end, when Brenna is trying pushing Connor away, it is heartbreaking for them both, you can feel how both of them feeling through it all and it makes it even harder to put the hook down. I'll be honest, it made me sad here and it made you be a part of the story. I couldn't help but smile and feel for Connor as he kept trying to get Brenna to talk to him, even if it was just letting her know how he day was. It makes your heart go out to him. When successful you can't help but smile.  The epilogue was just amazing and cute. You didn't expect to have the epilogue based around Shannon giving birth, but it was lovely. They have happy families around and friends in a hospital waiting from and Connor drops down on one knee as Shannon gives birth slightly amusing, if I'm honest. Shannon hitting Brenna and calling her stupid for apologising about it, typical Shannon. Would love to see Kolby's story as he has been mentioned in all of the story's.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page