top of page

Poker Face by Lindsey Powell

Poker Face was amazing, it was sexy right off the bat and it had an amazing timeskip to Natalie being 19, perfectly written. The age changes with Joey, Paige, Meghan and Miles were perfectly written as well, you knew they were older but you knew they were still the same characters and it didn't like it was that big a jump in years. Amazing.


Jesse and Natalie was bloody sexy and gorgeous together, I cannot get over them. They are perfect, you know the age gap is there but it's not dramatised, it's executed perfectly that has my barrier for age gap utterly destroyed by both Poker Face by Lindsey Powell and Dear Heart, You Screwed Me by Ashlee Rose. No complaints from me, I assure you.


I loved the introduction to Sophia and Marshall (Meghan's and Miles's son), I'll get more into them in their story's review. I absolutely hated Drake with a passion, but it prove the effects Lindsey's writing has. Even though, I hated him, I loved his scenes, he made it a typical late teen love story with an a$$hol3 and it fits perfectly.


I absolutely love how Natalie is literally Paige Junior and yes, I am stealing Miles nickname for her, it's so fitting it is unreal. She is the apple of her parents eyes and she knows it and owns it and I absolutely love her for it. I loved how Natalie, Marshall and Sophia worked together against Drake to stop him threatening Natalie about her and Jesse also to teach him a lesson about him disrespecting women. I love their trio but not a trio due to tension with Sophia and Marshall, which I'm gonna love snooping in on in Dark Roulette.


I felt like I was brought home almost Wlwhen Paige confronts Jesse about this relationship with Natalie, they found out from Drake. Paige and Joey being badass even over 50 years old was the cherry on the cake for this story. The one thing I found a bit questionable with this, is where Natalie is told by Marshall about Jesse being with her parents and Joey and Paige are more concerned about her dating a professor (which any parent would be shocked about, yes, I know) than where the news has come from. They know the type of person Drake is and who his family. As Paige has always been 'Natalie is adult, she can make her own decisions' and Joey, of course, 'She is my baby girl', so it's questionable why Paige didn't asked Natalie herself and make sure Joey stayed put. However! Knowing Joey from the stories I've read, he can see red very quickly and when he sees red Paige sees red and go on autopilot, which is perfect and completely them. It was an amazing and well thought out situation for the story as I cannot imagine reading Joey and Paige drinking tea with Natalie and Jesse asking about their relationship, even if they are badasses.


It was an amazing book, perfectly written, amazingly executed. Had you thinking, had you wondering why people were asking in certain ways, which is amazing. I could not put it down, it was a great read for when I was recovering and just returning back to work.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page